English | Italiano

Sequenza VII (author's note)

Sequenza VII
for oboe (1969)

My Sequenzas for monodic instruments (flute, trombone, oboe, clarinet, trumpet, bassoon) call for a polyphonic listening, partly based on a fast transition between different characters and on their simultaneous interaction.
In Sequenza VII for oboe I carry on the research of a latent polyphony putting into perspective the complex sound structures of the instrument with an ever-present “tonic”: a B natural that can be played pianissimo by any other instrument, behind the stage or in the audience. It is a harmonic perspective that contributes to a subtler analytic insight of the various stages of transformation of the solo part.
Sequenza VII was written in 1969 for Heinz Holliger.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info