English | Italiano

Sequenza IXb (author's note)

Sequenza IX
for contralto saxophone (1981)

Sequenza IXb is a transcription for contralto saxophone of Sequenza IX for clarinet, written in 1980. It is essentially a long melody implying, like almost every melody, redundancy, symmetries, transformations and returns. Sequenza IX is also a “sequence” of instrumental gestures developing a constant transformation between two different harmonic fields: a seven-note one (F sharp, C, C sharp, E, G, B flat and B natural) appearing always in the same register, and a five-note one appearing in ever-different registers. The latter penetrates, modifies and comments on the harmonic functions of the first seven-note field.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info