English | Italiano

Sequenza IX (author's note)

Sequenza IX
for clarinet (1980)

Sequenza IX for clarinet (I also transcribed it for contralto saxophone) is essentially a long melody implying - like almost every melody - redundancy, symmetries, transformations and returns. Sequenza IX is also a “sequence” of instrumental gestures developing a constant transformation between two different harmonic fields: a seven-note one (F sharp, C, C sharp, E, G, B flat and B natural) appearing always in the same register, and a five-note one appearing in ever-different registers. The latter penetrates, modifies and comments on the harmonic functions of the first seven-note field.
Sequenza IX was written in 1980 for Michel Arrignon.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info