English | Italiano

Sequenza IV (author's note)

Sequenza IV
for piano (1966)

Sequenza IV for piano can be considered as a journey of exploration through the unknown and known regions of instrumental articulation and colour. Two independent harmonic sequences unfold simultaneously, at times interpenetrating each other: a real one on the keyboard and a virtual one - so to speak - by means of the sustaining pedal.
In Sequenza IV, as in the other Sequenzas, I elaborated a polyphony of actions, intended as an exposition and superimposition of different instrumental characters and gestures.
Sequenza IV was written in 1966 for Jocy de Carvalho.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info