English | Italiano

Il contenuto di questa pagina richiede una nuova versione di Adobe Flash Player.

Scarica Adobe Flash Player

Sequenza IXb (author's note)

Sequenza IX
for contralto saxophone (1981)

Sequenza IXb is a transcription for contralto saxophone of Sequenza IX for clarinet, written in 1980. It is essentially a long melody implying, like almost every melody, redundancy, symmetries, transformations and returns. Sequenza IX is also a “sequence” of instrumental gestures developing a constant transformation between two different harmonic fields: a seven-note one (F sharp, C, C sharp, E, G, B flat and B natural) appearing always in the same register, and a five-note one appearing in ever-different registers. The latter penetrates, modifies and comments on the harmonic functions of the first seven-note field.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info