English | Italiano

Il contenuto di questa pagina richiede una nuova versione di Adobe Flash Player.

Scarica Adobe Flash Player

Sequenza IX (author's note)

Sequenza IX
for clarinet (1980)

Sequenza IX for clarinet (I also transcribed it for contralto saxophone) is essentially a long melody implying - like almost every melody - redundancy, symmetries, transformations and returns. Sequenza IX is also a “sequence” of instrumental gestures developing a constant transformation between two different harmonic fields: a seven-note one (F sharp, C, C sharp, E, G, B flat and B natural) appearing always in the same register, and a five-note one appearing in ever-different registers. The latter penetrates, modifies and comments on the harmonic functions of the first seven-note field.
Sequenza IX was written in 1980 for Michel Arrignon.

Luciano Berio

Note d'autore: informazioni generali | Author's note: general info